It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 05:07

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: 17 Sep 2016, 21:24 

Your car: 87 Cordia GSR Turbo
Any body know if it bolts up to the stock cordia gearbox they are both narrow block but bottom r/h bell housing bolt looks like its diffrent.

So here is what happened im a mechanic an a few weeks back a mint well looked after stock standard 87 cordia gsr with 130k come into work on the tow truck after the ladys grand son had been driving it. I checked it out sounded like a snapped cambelt it wasnt one cylinder had no comp the other 3 were down told them would have to pull the head off to inspect and was going to be 2k to fix.

It sat out the back for 2 months and i ended up with a Link g4+ storm ecu after a evo X it was ment to go in got sold i use to be a dyno tuner i still have access to the dyno its at hampton downs race track now days so i still do some performance stuff mainly i do diagnostics/ electronics type stuff now days so i was like hmm wonder what that old cordia will go like with a retro injection set up and a link and i could use a new run about/work hack.

Ring the lady up "If you dont want to fix your car how much do you want for it" She said $1000 i said 800 ended up giving her 950 for it. That night pulled apart the head gave it a valve job ported and polished the intake ports checked every thing over in a rush put a $20 head gasket on timed up the cambelt 1,2&4 had 125psi comp but 3 had 75psi the bore looked fine so i thought might be sticky rings bolted it together when you thrash it somehow it goes not bad must have broken rings it has blow by issues and knocks on cyl3.