It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 21:43

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Dreaded Smoke
PostPosted: 18 May 2012, 16:30 
Superuser
Superuser

Hey Guys,

Just putting the word out to see if anyone can help before I take her to the garage and pay lots :(

My VR4 Cordia is blowing a little smoke (grey/blue/black) its nothing on idle notice it when im pulling into drives or reversing. I cant really see it behind me when I drive day or night. And i've tried not to boost while its blowing just in case that makes it worse. Ive had a turbo go on me before but that was blowing on idle so not really sure what this is. I have been told maybe valve seals? Anyone know how expensive this would be to cost? Or an easy DIY way of finding whats the cause?

Thank you in advance and if you need any more info please dont hesitate to ask. Im a novice when it comes to engines (although i have ordered a VR4 owners manual so hoping to learn a lot soon) so please go easy on me.

Thanks

Post subject: Re: Dreaded Smoke
PostPosted: 18 May 2012, 18:36 
This forum is my life
This forum is my life

Your car: DOHC 2.3 VR4 85 AB GSR
Immaculate Stock 86 AC GSR
Usually smoke at idle is valve stem seals........smoking under load is rings.....long periods of idle where smoke appears is turbocharger as the centre stops spinning due to thermal expansion. :)

How much oil is in the front of the turbo/air canister?

PostPosted: 18 May 2012, 19:08 
Superuser
Superuser

Are piston rings as expensive as they sound? I'll check the turbo for oil tomorrow, but like I said the book hasn't arrived yet so that is easier said than done haha.

On the way how I was checking my pressure (not sure how accurate my gauges are) but when sold the oil pressure was around 35/40 then as the car headed up, it dropped to 27ish? And then a little smoke. It's not really bad but would like to fix it before it does any damage (is it ok to drive? I only work 10 mins away.

Thanks for your help bitza